Project Project Runway Challenge 6: Workroom

Posted on

 

This week for Project Project Runway, our instructions were slightly modified compared to the actual Project Runway contestants. Since we don’t all have access to art school students, we could “Use a piece of artwork you have in your home, a favorite painting from a museum, or if you have access to a child, work with them to create an artwork.” as our inspiration this week.

As I live in the D.C. metro area and was planning on headed to The District anyway, I swung by the National Gallery of Art to see what would pop out at me. During my abbreviated trip, the Pablo Picasso painting Family of Saltimbanques. I really like the overall feel and unusual color scheme of the work, and I found its subjects very inspiring.

The fabrics above are what I chose to make my garment out of. I’m particularly pleased with the stripe, as I used tea to dye the otherwise Halloween-y stripe. I cannot wait to show you my creation tomorrow. It is by far my most time-consuming work—I think I used almost as much time as the real contestants!

Leave a comment